All the Movies
All the Movies Podcast
The Country Doctor (July 8, 1909)
0:00
-3:25

The Country Doctor (July 8, 1909)

dir. D.W. Griffith

So I exaggerated a bit with this post’s subtitle, but the most interesting thing about this film, and the reason I put it on my list of films to watch, is the presence of Mary Pickford in a small role. She later became the original “America’s Sweetheart,” and, according to Wikipedia at least, is “considered to be one of the most recognizable women in history.” I wanted to see an early example of her work, and The Country Doctor, which premiered on July 8th 1909, is just that.

The star here is, of course, our favorite Biograph Girl, Florence Lawrence. She plays the wife of Dr. Harcourt, the country doctor of the film’s title. The film runs for 14 minutes, and the plot is straight-forward and somewhat predictable. The doctor’s daughter falls ill, and he tends to her. Suddenly, a neighbor bursts in— her daughter is sick, too! The doctor goes to treat the neighboring daughter, leaving his own daughter in the hands of mom. As the doctor’s child’s condition worsens, mom twice sends her friend to fetch her husband, but he’s too preoccupied saving the neighboring child. Suddenly, the neighbor girl is better, so the doctor heads home. While he’s on the way, his own daughter dies. Florence Lawrence has her moment when she reacts to the tragedy, and she’s believable. By the time the good doctor returns home, his wife is catatonic, and it’s too late to save his daughter’s life. Perhaps a lesson has been learned, but if so, I don’t know what it is.

Despite the somewhat melodramatic nature of the film, Griffith again demonstrates his talent, keeping things interesting and exciting, despite the audience knowing how things are likely to turn out. Lawrence doesn’t have much to do, and Pickford is barely in the film, yet it’s still an interesting bit of film, and I didn’t feel my 14 minutes was wasted.

I don’t think it exists on DVD. I couldn’t find it listed anywhere, and it’s not on anything I own, but it’s in the public domain, and I watched it on YouTube. I’ve posted the video below if you’d like to watch as well.

It’s worth noting that this is the first film I’ve seen that utilizes title cards during the film to explain the action. The descriptions are minimal, but serve to prepare the audience for what is about to happen, and go a long way towards assuring that there is no confusion on the part of the viewer.

Next I’m watching: Romeo Turns Bandit [1909], directed by Romeo Bosetti.

0 Comments
All the Movies
All the Movies Podcast
I'm watching my way chronologically through the history of cinema.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Greg Gioia