All the Movies
All the Movies Podcast
The Fairy Tales of Georges Méliès, pt. 2 (1904-1910)
0:00
-2:40

The Fairy Tales of Georges Méliès, pt. 2 (1904-1910)

dir. Georges Méliès

I don’t know how much more I have to say about Georges Méliès. I watched the remaining seven films on the blu-ray I shared last time, and while they are uniformly wonderful, they are in the same vein as the first batch I wrote about. This isn’t to say that Méliès is a one-trick pony or anything. Far from it! Each film has its own character, and its own neat special effects. But, when it comes down to it, each is a static camera filming an impressively dressed stage, as actors and acrobats prance and tumble about, often appearing and disappearing before your eyes.

These are the films I watched:

1904 The Impossible Voyage [released July 31, 1904]
1905 Rip’s Dream [released November 25 1905]
1906 The 400 Tricks of the Devil [release date unknown]
1906 The Inventor Crazybrains and His Wonderful Airship [release date unknown]
1906 The Witch [released December 20, 1906]
1909 A Diabolic Tenant [released January 1, 1909]
1910 Whimsical Illusions [release date unknown]

As before they are available on this blu-ray. You can click the image and buy it, if you so desire.

The highlight of these is probably The Impossible Voyage, where a group of travelers fly to the sun and back, but all 7 were entertaining, and I’ll certainly revisit them at some point in the future.

And that wraps up my experience with the short fairy tales of Georges Méliès.

Next I’m watching: The Call of the Wild [1908], directed by D.W. Griffith.

0 Comments
All the Movies
All the Movies Podcast
I'm watching my way chronologically through the history of cinema.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Greg Gioia